Sign In or Register here

Trump Issues Revised Executive Order Banning Travel From Six Countries - Source Alexandria news

Posted on Mar 07,2017
Filed Under Local Politics , Politics,

President Trump signs new Executive Order on immigration and travel (courtesy photo)

Source Alexandria news

WASHINGTON, DC. - U.S. President Donald Trump today issued a revised Executive Order banning foreign nationals from six countries from entering the United States except in certain conditions for the next 90 days. The original Executive Order regarding immigration and travel, which was issued on Jan. 27, has been put on hold by at least four federal courts. The new Executive Order takes effect on March 16, 2017.

Today’s EO limits entry into the United States by citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. Iraq, which was included in the initial EO, has been eliminated from the current ban. Individuals from the six affected countries, who from Jan. 27, 2017, were lawful permanent residents of the United States (green card holders) or who had approved visas which allowed them to enter the United States are not impacted by today’s Executive Order. Other case-by-case waivers are available for citizens of these six affected countries.

Today’s EO also requires the Department of Justice, Department of Homeland Security, and the State Department to prepare reports on the implementation of the Executive Order and to collect information on other countries worldwide whose citizens may present general security risks to the United States. The current EO banning entry into the United States from these six countries is in effect for 90 days during which time new vetting procedures for foreign nationals who wish to enter the United States will be developed by DOJ, DHS and State Department officials.

Source Alexandria news


Loading Loading..

Shopping and Services Guide

Exclusive deals from the best locals!

Browse our highlighted partners
Spas, retailers, restaurants and…
so much more.