Sign In or Register here

Alexandria Election: How Each Precinct Voted For City Council - Source Patch

Posted on Nov 08,2018
Filed Under Local Politics , Politics,

Image via Visit Alexandria

Source Patch

By Emily Leayman

ALEXANDRIA, VA. - Alexandria voters officially elected Justin Wilson as the next mayor and chose six Democratic candidates for City Council on Nov. 6. Results with 100 percent of precincts reporting determined these City Council winners: Canek Aguirre, Elizabeth B. Bennett-Parker (16.27 of the vote), Amy B. Jackson (14.67 percent), John Taylor Chapman (13.94 percent), Redella S. "Del" Pepper (13.50 percent) and Mo Seifeldein (12.64 percent). They defeated Republicans Michael S. Clinkscale and Kevin F. Dunne as well as Independent Mark Leo Shiffer.

Voters strongly favored Sen. Tim Kaine over Republican challenger Corey Stewart and Rep. Don Beyer over Republican challenger Thomas Oh.

Turnout appeared to be higher than ever in a non-presidential election year. The city's last count indicated a 58 percent turnout by 4 p.m., up from 47 percent in 2017. Citywide turnout for the 2015 general election was 34.24 percent.

Source Patch

Loading Loading..

Shopping and Services Guide

Exclusive deals from the best locals!

Browse our highlighted partners
Spas, retailers, restaurants and…
so much more.